Monday, July 6, 2015

Brazil 1989 - Copa America Special

Brazil hosted and won the 1989 Copa America.

2015 champions Chile lost to beaten 2015 finalists Argentina in their 5 team group, so didn't qualify for the semi finals.

Matches were played in four stadia. Goal nets were suspended via three differing methods.

Estadio Fonte Nova

Estadio Do Arruda

Estadio Serra Dourada

Estadio do Maracana

Sunday, July 5, 2015

Argentina 1987 - Copa America Special

A full 28 years before anyone said, "Gonzalo Higuain, what a bottler,"Argentina hosted the 33rd Copa America.

It was the first competition to be held under the current system of rotational hosts.

2015 champions Chile were runners up.

Matches were played in three stadia, all with wonderful L-Supports.

Buenos Aires



Wednesday, April 1, 2015

Italy v England Special

To mark this week's International friendly between Italy and England in Turin, a quick look back at the remarkable history of Italian goal nets in this fixture.

 Florence 1952 - looks like Hampden Park

Rome 1961 - more Olanda than Italia

 Rome 1976 - Wembley-style hardware (West Ham-style software)

 Turin 1980